I’ve neglected posting on the blog, but it’s not because I’ve been busy. I’ve just been living life. Amber Haines wrote about it recently and put it so much more eloquently than I can.

There’s much going on, and at the same time, nothing going on. School started again in August. Routine is good for us, but so is taking our time. We went to Disney World in September. We’ve considered making changes, but have not heard a clear word from God, so are staying put for the moment.

I’ve missed my grandmother incredibly. Then I think of the others who have gone on to join my could of witnesses. This time of year always reminds me of my grandfather, my one and only Paw-paw, partly because his birthday is November 1st–All Saints Day, appropriately–and partly because he talked me through the first Thanksgiving Dinner I prepared on my own.

We’ve been to the Pumpkin Festival. The leaves have turned, and I want to savor their color more, but the rain and wind have had other plans. We’re gearing up for Trick-or-Treat, which begins a couple of months’ worth of gatherings and celebrations. Andy Williams told the truth: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

It’s a balance of celebrating the here and now, the wonder of everything seen new through my girls’ eyes. It’s the honoring of the foundations built by those I love who did their work and are enjoying their reward. It’s all of it, a mix of sweet and bitter and longing.

