>A few weeks ago, my best friend showed up at my house with corn chowder for a family in our church. My house was, to put it lightly, a hot mess. I was moving old clothes out, sorting through things for donation, you name it.

She said, “There’s no judgment here.” I thought, “Just wait ’till you come in.”

My floors needed to be vacuumed. My sink was overflowing with dishes. Everything was everywhere. It looked as if a tornado had been set loose inside my house.

My pride took a huge hit that day. And actually, it took another 3 days later when my Mom and Aunt made a surprise visit.

My Mom came that weekend to help me paint our TV Room and Kitchen (pictures to come soon, I promise). I got things in order, but it’s a daily battle to keep things looking presentable. I feel that I’m the only one who fights the Battle of Keeping the House Clean.

I came across this post and I can’t tell you how encouraging it was. Even when our home projects aren’t complete, we should appreciate the work we’ve done.

I keep replaying the words of this post over in my mind. I keep telling myself to keep striving. Little by little, this house will be what I want it to be: a haven for my family.

