>So I blew it on the second day of NaBloPoMo. I had pulled up Blogger and had a post in mind, but a sleepy little girl took precedence. I fell asleep with her and missed the second day’s post.

But the whole point of NaBloPoMo is to post more often, so that’s what I’m aiming for.

Most of my posts are totally random. This one is no different.

I’ve been thinking about my health and my weight a lot lately. And I have to say, I’ve been encouraged by Wynonna Judd’s story and how she’s lost 55 lbs. I get her. I relate to her. And I think, wow, she’s looking great…. wonder if I can, too?
This week, I posted a status that got LOTS of comments. Basically, I was asking for weight loss/better health tips. Wow. I was kind of surprised to have that many responses. But it has me thinking. What can I do now to help curb my calories? What physical activity/activities can I do to help me get moving?
If I had an extra $250, I’d buy my neighbor’s like-new treadmill and do that. I’m in the mood to walk, if that makes any sense, but as I type this, we are experiencing freezing rain and may have our first snow tonight. And I’m a big ol’ baby, so you’re not gonna see me suck it up and walk in the freezing rain.
There was a lot of debate on my Facebook status about the right way to go about it. Some swear by South Beach. For others, it’s Weight Watchers. Still others just count calories.
I dunno what to do.
I can tell you this: I have tried Weight Watchers at different points and have been very successful. I like the accountability. Dare I say, I need the accountability. But I hate paying $12 a week for the accountability, you know?

This year, I dabbled with the South Beach Diet for about a month. I lost 10 lbs. But I hit the wall at 10 lbs. I’d teeter between 8 & 10 pounds lost. I quit at Easter.

Although, I will say that I felt a lot better on the South Beach Diet.

Counting calories seems so daunting to me. I have no idea why, especially given that on Weight Watchers, to calculate the points value a food has, you look at the calories, fat and fiber.

Anyway, all told, to get back to my healthiest weight, I need to lose 53 pounds. I kind of feel like I’m David and the weight is Goliath. Add to that a wedding next October, and… GULP. Kind of scary. Definitely daunting. I don’t know where to start, but I need to start somewhere, the sooner, the better.

