>I’ve been wanting to share with you a story of God showing his crazy, extravagant love on me.

But, as we say in West Virginia, I got a wild hair to (finally) clean up our front living room. During the weeks that encompassed a consignment sale and illness (all 4 of us have had something), the living room and, really, the whole house went to hades in a hand basket, if you catch my drift.

The room is coming along nicely. While not finished, it’s so much better than it was!

So, in addition to having a really cluttered house, our finances have been hit hard. Sometimes, you just don’t have quite enough to get to payday. Such was the case last week.

That weekend, we went to the Pumpkin Festival as we do every year and I didn’t go crazy. I have been wanting a nice wreath for the front door, but didn’t find anything there that was a price I was willing to pay.

After we got home, I went to Home Goods and found one for a great price. For some odd reason, though, I didn’t take it out of the box and display it on the front door. I also found some pumpkin colored towels, but didn’t take the tags off or wash them.

Wednesday came and the gas gauge sat on E. We didn’t have any money to get gas. None. Payday was Thursday, and until the check came through electronically, we were honest to goodness broke. The girls had been coughing and we had used all the cough medicine.

Then I thought of the wreath and towels. And I have to be honest, my heart sank a little. But then I thought, “They’re just things and we need the money.” In the parking lot, I said a quick prayer that said something like, God, I know these are just things. I only bought them to bless my house and make it a haven. But taking my girls to church to learn scriptures is more important than stuff. I trust You. Amen.

I get my money back and stop at the gas station just in time, as I would imagine we were running on fumes.

At church that night, someone came up to me and blessed me with a gift card. I don’t want to say who got it, who gave it, or how much it was, but I will say, I was blown away. I cried. I was just… really, blown away.

I don’t mean to say all this to make myself look all great or anything. That’s not the point. The point is that God will provide for our needs. He knows our heart. He knows our needs and even our little wants that seem so insignificant to anyone else but us.

Lessons learned?

  • Obedience is better than forgiveness. Had I not been obedient, and had I not valued my children learning the Word over stuff, I would have missed the blessing. He wants our obedience and I should strive for that, rather than relaxing and then asking forgiveness.
  • God’s Timing and My Timing. Had we stayed home, I would’ve missed a blessing that provided for the medicine my girls needed that night. Had we stayed home, my need in the time in which I needed it would not have been met; it would have been delayed. Sure, it would’ve still been a blessing, but the extra “punch” of God meeting my need, exactly when I needed it would’ve been lost.
  • When you work as unto God, He will use anything, even people, to love on you.
  • God’s love extends beyond anything I do or don’t do. It goes beyond my failures and confirms that He is a loving Father. No, I will definitely fail, disappoint or hurt Him, but He loves me more than all that.

Nearly a week later, I’m still blown away. And thankful. And overwhelmed by God’s crazy, extravagant, exuberant love.

