>In my previous life (read: before I had children), I worked full-time. Mostly, I liked it. By the time my oldest child was born when I was nearly 26, I had held jobs in a wide variety of places, giving me an excellent background and great resume-worthy experience.

When my oldest was born, I wrestled with whether or not to return to work. The company for which I work allowed for up to 6 months of short-term leave, but in the end, we decided we wanted me home. With a heavy heart, I submitted my resignation letter. I just hated to leave such a great company.

I stayed home with my oldest for 17 months, until our finances dictated that I must return to full-time work immediately. I can’t tell you how much heavier my heart was to leave my child in daycare to go to work. I missed out on so much of her little-ness. Even after she was 2, then even when she was 3, there were mornings when she would cry to stay home with me.

How many mornings did I arrive at work with pink, tear-stained eyes?

I landed a job with a wonderful company and was there all of 4 months before I [finally] got pregnant with my youngest daughter. I had wanted to work for this company for a long time and I think they were the best people and company that I ever worked for. I adored working there. They were so wonderful to me during my high-risk pregnancy, and even though they knew I would likely not return, they loved on me and supported me the entire time. My heart sank when our pediatrician told me to resign my position, given that my baby had an NG tube down her nose for feedings and that there are no daycare facilities in my area that can take care of medically needy babies.

I left the work force with no idea when I might return. I thought about when I might go back to work, but it all depended on how well the little one was. Well, you know the answer to that! She’s a fireball full of activity. No delays. Aside from her shoe lifts, no needs whatsoever.

But have you tried to find a job lately? Wowza.

I talked about trying to work from home, but most of the time, there were costs associated, if not for membership or training, then for equipment or services needed to complete the work. It looked like a daunting, impossible task.

A friend of ours recently posted a job. He owns his own biz and after we chatted about what the company needs, Hubs and I decided to try it on, walk around in it, see how it fits.

(And to my friend, Angie, I think this is the kind of thing you’ve been trying to tell me about for the past year. You are the wisest of us, dear friend.)

So, dear friends, one of the reasons I’ve not been online as much or as chatty on the blog as much is because I’ve been working! From home. Praise God and Please, Help Me, Jesus!

I’m just really getting started this week and besides getting acquainted with the websites/applications I’ll be using, I’ve been learning valuable lessons. First of all, I seriously need to look up the blogs that have time management worksheets and find one/some for Work-From-Home-Moms. The thought of scheduling my evenings is a bit scary.

Second of all, if this works out, I think I may forget about going back to get my Master’s degree in Education in order to pursue teaching and focus on working from home. That’s a big IF. But if it works out, I would be able to be involved at the girls’ school and be there as often as possible without having to take time off from a conventional job. I’m thinking of all the pro’s while wondering what hurdles I may face along the way.

But for now, I’m taking it one task at a time.

After nearly 3 years of being a Stay-At-Home-Mommy, and after thinking and talking about working from home for about 2 years, I’m finally doing it.

Your prayers would be so appreciated! 🙂

