>Wanted: 1 Sister-Friend

Prefer someone local to hang out with and nurture a deep friendship. Must love Jesus. Liking coffee, chocolate or ice cream is a plus, but not required. Having similar interests and being family oriented also a plus, but not required.

I’m not interested in status and fluff. Looking for a friend similar to those found in scripture:

1 Samuel 18:1-4

After David had finished talking with Saul, he met Jonathan, the king’s son. There was an immediate bond between them, for Jonathan loved David. From that day on Saul kept David with him and wouldn’t let him return home. And Jonathan made a solemn pact with David, because he loved him as he loved himself. Jonathan sealed the pact by taking off his robe and giving it to David, together with his tunic, sword, bow, and belt.

1 Samuel 23:16-18

Jonathan went to find David and encouraged him to stay strong in his faith in God. “Don’t be afraid,” Jonathan reassured him. “My father will never find you! You are going to be the king of Israel, and I will be next to you, as my father, Saul, is well aware.” So the two of them renewed their solemn pact before the Lord. Then Jonathan returned home, while David stayed at Horesh.

2 Samuel 9:1-7

One day David asked, “Is anyone in Saul’s family still alive—anyone to whom I can show kindness for Jonathan’s sake?” He summoned a man named Ziba, who had been one of Saul’s servants. “Are you Ziba?” the king asked.

“Yes sir, I am,” Ziba replied.

The king then asked him, “Is anyone still alive from Saul’s family? If so, I want to show God’s kindness to them.”

Ziba replied, “Yes, one of Jonathan’s sons is still alive. He is crippled in both feet.”

“Where is he?” the king asked.

“In Lo-debar,” Ziba told him, “at the home of Makir son of Ammiel.”

So David sent for him and brought him from Makir’s home. His name was Mephibosheth; he was Jonathan’s son and Saul’s grandson. When he came to David, he bowed low to the ground in deep respect. David said, “Greetings, Mephibosheth.”

Mephibosheth replied, “I am your servant.”

“Don’t be afraid!” David said. “I intend to show kindness to you because of my promise to your father, Jonathan. I will give you all the property that once belonged to your grandfather Saul, and you will eat here with me at the king’s table!”

**********

I have so many thoughts right now. My heart is so hoping to find a friend… my best girlfriend from high school has been in Texas for work and continued education. My best friends from college now live in Colorado and Ohio. Though I have some friends here where I live, most of us have been so busy that we don’t get to spend time together and really connect. I see other women and their friendships and long for that, but in the context of a Christian friendship that is based on real heart-to-heart friendship. What I’ve seen is a lot of friendship that is either more like an acquaintance, lacking true, deep, transparency and closeness or friendship that seems based on keeping up with the Joneses. Obviously, I want more than an acquaintance and do not fit in the “in” crowd and it’s even markedly more obvious when I feel like I’m left out of things. Am I really left out? It looks like it some times, but I have no idea if it’s intentional or not.

I’m asking God to really purge some junk out of my heart. I don’t want to be hurt, angry or jealous, especially if there is no real basis for me to be. But even if there is, I don’t want to waste my time or energy on feeling that way. What I sincerely want is a Christian Sister-Friend.

