>I don’t what it is lately, but I’ve really gotten into birds. Specifically, modern bird images, either in print, incorporated into jewelry, or in home decor.

I’ve been a fan of birdhouses for a really long time, so maybe this shift towards liking the creatures that inhabit the birdhouses is natural.

Or maybe the designers out there are in the middle of a fad and I’m buying into it.


Perhaps it’s because it’s Spring and mornings are now filled with the songs of birds… life feels a little bit newer and my new found admiration for birds is simply because of the season.

I’ve also found that I’m particularly drawn to the modern looking works… I don’t really want the realistic looking birds. I like the sort of cartoonish ones that I’ve included with this blog post.

I started wondering if there was any significance to where I am right now, which is a really good place. God feels near. I’ve been reading and praying more. Even waking up with songs in my heart.

So I looked up “birds” in the search query for an online Bible. I found:

Remember him before the door to life’s opportunities is closed and the sound of work fades. Now you rise at the first chirping of the birds, but then all their sounds will grow faint. – Ecclesiastes 12:4

The flowers are springing up, the season of singing birds has come, and the cooing of turtledoves fills the air. – Song of Solomon 2:12

What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. – Matthew 10:29

Look at the ravens. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for God feeds them. And you are far more valuable to him than any birds! – Luke 12:24

I love how God reminds us how important we are to Him by using nature and showing us how He know us all.

And right now, I love how, to me, birds are representing spring, new life and a fresh start. I also love my new bird-themed welcome mat and the neat jewelry highlighted here (Hmm… Mother’s Day is right around the corner… wonder if a little birdie can tell Hubs that I’d love one of these…).

The first necklace photo is courtesy of The Vintage Pearl. The second bird necklace is courtesy of Figs and Ginger. And really, aren’t they gorgeous?

