>I’ve been thinking a lot about Easter Resurrection Sunday and am hoping to make it more than a day full of new dresses, baskets, and going from grandparents’ home to grandparents’ home to eat.

I want my girls to grow up anticipating this day as a day of thanksgiving to God for His Perfect Lamb. I want my girls to be giddy with excitement to have the chance to worship God and celebrate Jesus’ resurrection. I want them to know that This Day is not about a bunny; it’s about eternity and the Savior who came to save us.

Kristi has a great post here. I encourage you to read it and think about what she says. (There’s actually a great post about Halloween here. Somewhat related.) I have to say that I agree with what is on Kristi’s blog post. We try to steer away from the bunnies, chicks and other traditional Easter fare. We try to put as much focus as possible on why we are celebrating, the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

This post offers some great ideas to help celebrate this season with a Christ-centered attitude and heart. I’d like to try some of the suggestions. I *really* want one of these. I have to confess that I have never observed Lent or Advent, mostly out of ignorance because growing up, we didn’t participate. The more I read and hear, the more I am convinced that I want to purposefully take time to reflect on Resurrection/First Fruits Sunday and Christmas.

In these ways and so many more, I am just baby beginning to crawl, sure to stumble as I learn to walk, having faith that God knows the intent of my heart**: to draw closer to Him.

** 1 Samuel 16:7, Hebrews 4:12

