>Something occurred to me this week: I have a hard time in January. When I thought about it, I have really struggled in January for the past 5 years. Some of it was in relation to a particular event, such as preparing for Abbie’s tongue surgery, a lawsuit or dealing with serious issues.

But I also thought that nearly every January, I start experiencing insomnia. Or at the very least, not being able to sleep until 1, 2 or 3 a.m. That causes a domino effect. I’m overly tired during the days and then eventually, I’ll start napping in the evenings, which perpetuates the entire cycle. No kidding, I have pretty much passed out from exhaustion 2 evenings this week.

I’m starting to wonder if I have Seasonal Affective Disorder. It seems that my boughts of insomnia occur most often in the fall, peaking in January. I don’t feel this way in the spring or summer.

Maybe I should get a light, but the products I’ve found are too expensive to go out and get on a whim without a professional telling me that I do, indeed, experience SAD and that I should get one.

All I know is that right now, I feel awful and that I couldn’t function without coffee. And unfortunately, it’s turning out to be a very grey and bitterly cold winter.

