>The silent blog is attributed to me being still hard at work. I have goals! I’m focused on meeting those goals, and mix in “Clean House” on the Style Network, and I’m ready to go. 🙂

After the yard sale a couple of weeks ago, I decided that the stuff wasn’t coming back in the house and could only stay in the garage for a few weeks. So, a charity truck came to pick up some. Then I dropped off another load. And, wouldn’t you know, I bet I have enough for at least another drop-off, perhaps two. (Man, is this ever a sad reflection of how much stuff has been in my house, crammed into closets and bins!)

My goals for the house are:

1. Completely clean out Hannah’s room.
2. Paint and update Hannah’s room (if you are friends with me on Facebook, you’ve read my drama. lol). She wants a princess theme. I’m trying to steer her away from Disney Princesses, but am losing that battle, so I’m trying to use lots of non-themed stuff for bedding, etc.
3. Completely clean out Abbie’s room.
4. Update Abbie’s room. This probably won’t happen until we move her to a “big girl bed” in the fall or winter. The frontrunner for the theme is “Nursery Rhyme” because I’m (again) trying to stay away from commercial themes. Seeing Dora the Explorer in Hannah’s room the past few years hasn’t been so much fun.
5. Be able to park in the garage again. Seriously. And this is so, so sad. BUT! I’ve made LOTS of progress!
6. Paint the fence.
7. Paint the exterior of the house.
8. Have carpets cleaned.

I wrote an email to Hubs last week that went something along these lines: “In a perfect world, when it was time for Abbie’s birthday party, the house and fence would be painted. Hannah’s room would be updated. The house would be perfect. Balloons would be tied to the fence posts. We would have had enough money to buy the swing set for the girls and all the kids would be playing on it. People would be having fun.”

He said I sounded like a Walgreen’s commercial.

While I know I can’t ever reach perfection, I am striving towards excellence.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” ~ Philippians 4:8

Having an organized, neat, freshly painted home is lovely, admirable, noble, right, and excellent. So I’ll keep thinking about those things and work towards having them done.

