>

There are 5 months until Abbie’s birthday, but no matter, I’m already thinking of her party. I’m just crazy/obsessive/a super planner like that.

Heck, I already have oodles of ideas for Hannah’s 6th birthday party in December–a carnival circus theme! So, please oblige me while I share with you some ideas I’m mulling for Baby Girl’s second birthday party, coming soon to a home or park near you.

I can’t decide if I should do it in a Ladybug theme or a Cupcake theme. One of the reasons I’m thinking of using the Ladybug theme is that I have called Abbie “Love Bug” since birth. I don’t know why. Probably the same reasons my parents called me “Pooh Bear.” These things just happen.

So, I’m going to show you guys some of the things I’ve found that would be used during either party (warning: much link love coming up!) and then you tell me which ideas or which theme you think would be best.

Cupcake

I had wanted to use the cupcake theme for Abbie’s First Birthday, but Birthday Express was sold out of most of the items I needed (invitations and plates). The plates and balloons shown below are items they sell.

Besides, can you imagine how adorable these would be? (Photo courtesy of Ree at Confessions of a Pioneer Woman who hosted Bakerella and some of her readers.)

Abbie already has a cupcake birthday shirt from Gymboree. I will add another post about clothing options for the Princess Birthday Girl in a little bit.

Ladybug

I think I could at least make cakes like these, perhaps better: http://www.coolest-birthday-cakes.com/ladybug-cake.html#ladybug01

Martha Stewart featured Ladybug cookies on her show just before Valentine’s Day. I recorded it on our DVR and think I could actually pull it off: http://www.coppergifts.com/ProductCart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=3556&welcome=315

I found some really adorable bug-shaped cookie cutters to use as well. I may stock up on some and use them for summer time get-togethers: http://www.thecookiecuttershop.com/bugcookiecutters.shtml
If we go with Ladybug, I can’t decide which Ladybug theme to use. Again, photos below are items from Birthday Express. The blue balloon and the blue & red plate are from the “Love Bug” line; the pink plate is from the “Ladybugs: Oh So Sweet” line.


As far as clothing, Gymboree has a new line out with ladybugs on it called Pretty Lady. Check it out by clicking here.
What do you guys think?
