>I’m giving mad props to a fellow blogger, Snickollet, today.

Mad. Props.

If you don’t know her story and haven’t read her blog, please click here and check it out.

She’s cool. The cool kind of person I’d like to meet (and if I get to go to Boston in July and can work up enough nerve, I might just ask her).

She was in the Peace Corps. She’s an editor/writer. She was married to what sounds like a wonderful man. They brought two beautiful children into the world. He died of pancreatic cancer nearly 2 years ago.

And ever since, she’s been raising her babies all by herself. Her family is on the other side of the country. She lives in a city that has awful weather, and yet, every day, she takes them to daycare all on her own, goes to work, gathers her children afterward and does all the parenting. All the time.

I thought of her today as I was loading my own two children in the car. It’s been a little crazy this past week, and as I buckled the little one into her car seat, I thought of this incredible woman who does this same thing, each day, without any help at all.

If she has to go to the grocery store, she takes two children with her. Errands to run? They go, too.

I realized how blessed–and how spoiled–I am to have a partner who is really great about taking both or sometimes one child while I run errands and go to the grocery store. Something as simple as shopping alone is a luxury for many mommas, but I wondered today if this lady ever gets to enjoy that kind of luxury.

I imagine single parenting is the hardest job there is. You give of yourself every waking hour, no matter if you’re tired or sick. I imagine there is little time to one’s self.

It’s got to be exhausting, overwhelming… and so many other things I can’t think of right now. I applaud her for doing it, and for being honest with her struggles–and her victories– with her readers. She rocks.

