>The Pioneer Woman has a list of her 5 least favorite home-related chores on the right side bar of this page.

Mine are:

1. Putting away laundry. Washing, drying and folding are no problem. I hate putting it away and am glad that I’m not the only one, as PW hates this, too.

2. Unloading the dishwasher. I like loading it, especially because I like the way I load it, with all the spoons together, the forks together, etc., because not everybody loads a dishwasher that way. Again, PW has this on her list. Are we long-lost sisters?

3. Scrubbing the kitchen and bathroom floors. I don’t mind using swiffers or even wet swiffers, but I hate getting down on my hands and knees to scrub the floors, especially in the kitchen where some of the grout has chipped out and is funky.

4. Cleaning out the refrigerator. I used to actually like this, but in recent years, it’s fallen off the list of stuff I like to do.

5. Scrubbing my base boards. It just takes so long and it’s so tedious. It sorely needs to be done here, but I have mountains of laundry to finish first.

But! There are things I like doing. They are:

1. Cleaning the bathroom. I hate a dirty bathroom. I hate crud in the sink, I hate dirty tubs and I can’t stand toilets that need a good scrubbing. When I was pregnant with my oldest, I hired Merry Maids once simply because I needed help with the tub. Since I love taking long, hot, relaxing baths, I like the enviornment to be clean and sparkly.

2. Dusting and vacuuming, although if you came to my house right now, you would totally not believe me.

3. Cleaning the kitchen. There’s just something about finishing cleaning the kitchen that makes me feel like I’ve really accomplished something.

4. Cleaning light fixtures. I like taking them down, soaking them in hot water and putting them back up. They sparkle more. (Geez, is this a theme today or what?)

5. Cleaning out stuff in general. I had hired a professional organizer this fall, but we didn’t get finished due to a long list of reasons. But, cleaning out things I haven’t used in forever and either selling them or donating them to charity feels so good! I’m hoping to continue working on cleaning out and purging once the weather warms up again.

That said, my house looks like a tornado has gone crazy inside. Toys and clothes from Christmas have yet to be put away, primarily because there is no place to put them. This house is entirely way too small for our family. I have mountains of laundry to wash. The Christmas tree and decorations need to be taken down and put away. And all of these things are making me feel terribly overwhelmed.

