>

When I was a little girl, my mother and grandmothers made Christmas magical.

Lights are always high on my favorites list. I’ve always loved Christmas lights. When I was in Kindergarten, my mom worked all day to put lights on the house and when the bus stopped at the house, as soon as I was in our yard, she turned the lights on. It was magical in my 5-year-old mind and something I’ve never forgotten.
Many are the things I love about Christmas. Some of my favorite things are Christmas villages. I love them. If I could afford it, my house would be full of them. I love that you can create these little places and each one can even have its own theme. One can be Bethlehem, one can be a little country village and another can be a Victorian town. There are so many possibilities.

When I was young, one of my grandmothers had a plain little village she displayed each year. Even though it was simple, I loved it. I still do and would love to have one just like it. It’s amazing what you can find on eBay:

This is one village that most closely resembles the one Gran had. The houses in the set she had were bright like this, either white, pink, blue, green or perhaps red, and all covered with white roofs and mica “snow.” They had little holes in the back for Christmas lights and had celophane in the windows.

She had a sheet of white foam with glitter on it that she used for the ground… so, the ground was covered in sparkly snow.

The little churches remind me most of her set. Very plain, but so sweet.

Of course, I love modern-day villages, too. I can’t go into Lowe’s this time of year without visiting the garden section to check out what they have. I’m also crazy about the little gingerbread house Hallmark is offering this year:


Next week, I’m hoping to create real gingerbread houses, but for now, I like to look at this one through the glass at the Hallmark store near the store in which I work. The display looks so Christmas-y.

