>I’ve really been seeking God’s help in trying to get into the Spirit of Christmas. I really wanted to recapture the excitement and enthusiasm I had had. I wanted to really focus on what is important.

Maybe I’m not the only one who felt like too much was being focused on things that really don’t have anything to do with the Real Meaning of Christmas, like “Holiday Sales” and what not. Whatever the reason was the prompted our pastor to do a series on Christmas, I’m glad he’s doing it because it’s really helping, like rain for a desert.

This helped, too:

Yes, these photos were taken at night because of a combination of me not being able to find the camera (big surprise, right?) and having to work. Still, snow is magical, don’t you think?

This photo doesn’t really do the wreath justice. I love this wreath! I loved the red version of it, too. Maybe we’ll use red next year?

There’s just something about snow that helps me get “into” Christmas. While I realize that it wasn’t snowing in Bethlehem when Jesus was born, it is often cold or snowy during the time of year we celebrate Jesus’ birth where I live.

While not historically accurate for the event we’re celebrating, it is tradition. At least, it is for me. But even if there is no snow, I can’t let not-so-important details or factors hinder me from celebrating because the reason is so much more than the details. It’s easy for so many of us to not be able to see the forest for the trees.

In addition to the incredible sermons our pastor is preaching, a couple of other things are reminding me why I should let go of what I can’t control or what I’d like to do but don’t have the time or resources to do and why I need to focus on the scene depicted in my very own front yard, of the nativity, of the Real Gift.

Where I work, we are raising money to send to St. Jude’s. We were really close to our goal, within just a few hundred dollars, on Saturday. I was checking out a couple who was buying for their own children and others and when I asked them, they donated $100. $100!!!! It made my day. I think it made everyone’s day. My co-workers and I were just so happy. It was awesome! That is what it’s all about. Reaching out and helping those in need.

On my way home that night, Delilah was on the radio and she was talking about how easy it is to get wrapped up in all the details of Christmas and missing out on what’s important. It’s not about the gifts, the sales, anything else but, as she said (I’m paraphrasing… so wishing I could link to the audio of it), it’s about the most humble gift the world has ever received, a baby, just a little baby wrapped in strips of cloth sent to save us and to give us eternal life.

God is answering my prayers and is sending me messages to help me refocus on the eternal, not just the urgent or important. There’s a difference and it’s so easy for the urgent and important to stand in the way of the eternal.

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season. Whether or not you’re putting up a tree, baking cookies, sending cards or just simply enjoying the company of those you love, whatever you’re doing, I hope you’re making wonderful memories and are able to rest and be thankful for that wonderful little baby and the eternal changes He brought with His birth.

