>Tonight, I decided to do a couple of things for Thanksgiving and Christmas, but right now, I’d rather not talk about them. Really, I’m not sure if I will because I don’t really believe that if we do good things we should broadcast it.

I’m not doing that. All I wanted to do is say, I’m so excited!

I think part of my excitement has been spurred by The Mother Project. It’s a great idea and a great project. Check it out!

One of my most favorite Christmases was about 4 years ago (if I’m remembering correctly). My grandmother was at her hair stylist, and she told Ma-maw about a little grandmother trying to raise her grandsons on her own. She didn’t have any money to buy them gifts for Christmas and was selling some of her own meager possessions to try to make a little extra.

Well, Ma-maw talked to Mom about it, and Mom talked with me. We decided to adopt the entire family for Christmas. Oh my goodness! It was so much fun to buy things for those boys, and get the groceries for Christmas dinner and beyond and even something for the little grandmother. It was so exciting. I can’t even put it into words!

Really, honestly and truly, please hear my heart: I’m not out here trying to say, “Hey, look what we did.” I’m saying, giving to others warms your heart. It connects you to people you might not otherwise know. For a long time, I wanted to do something like that. Where I grew up, there aren’t a lot of agencies like the Salvation Army to provide the program in which to give to people…. but I found, I didn’t need a group to provide the opportunity. If we open our eyes and look around us, someone, somewhere needs help. It might be the lonely neighbor, the frazzled mom, anyone.

Does anyone out there have any good ideas about how to celebrate Christmas in a different way, other than materialism? There’s a book called “Unplug the Christmas Machine” that I’d really like to get and read (if I have time!). In the meantime, I’m looking for ways to celebrate the Real Meaning of the season without the focus being on material goods or ourselves…. though, I realize, some programs need things, material items, for what they accomplish, like Toys for Tots and things like that.

Bring on all the good ideas! I’m really excited to try something new this year.

