>That is the forecast. For tomorrow. Thanksgiving is just under two weeks away, and it just seems odd to me to have snow before Turkey Day, though I know that in many places, this is completely normal.

I have this notion that the Christmas holiday season shouldn’t be official until the day after Thanksgiving. Despite my notion, we’ve been playing Christmas songs/videos at work since November 1.

Still coughing like crazy and I didn’t accomplish 1 thing today, though I sorely needed to because this week is going to be extremely busy. I’m going to have people here twice, maybe three times, by Thursday, so I’ve got a lot to get done.

I’ve been watching the Food Network a lot today, and a part of me would love to cook Thanksgiving dinner myself this year. It’s a lot of work, but I enjoy it, even if it gets crazy, like me cutting my thumb pretty badly or the turkey and its juices being so much and so heavy that the rack in my oven bowes and sags. I don’t really cook like that often, but I really enjoy it.

I have hopes and goals, culinarily speaking, to learn how to make these things homemade/from scratch:

  • Bread
  • Chicken and Dumplings
  • Fudge
  • Pumpkin Rolls
  • Spaghetti Sauce
  • Dinner rolls
  • My mom’s potato salad
  • My grandma’s cole slaw
  • My mom’s gravy

Some of these things will require me to spend some time in the kitchen with my family, which I love and already do. Most of the time, I help or just keep company and they do the cooking. For me to really learn how to do something, I have to do it myself with them watching and supervising. Usually, there isn’t enough time for that.

Anyone out there have a dish (or few) that you’d like to know how to make?

