> In this month’s issue of Vanity Fair, Kate Winslet says that she still feels like the “fat kid.” (For more on the article, go here or here.)

Looking at the photo to the left, I wonder how on earth she can feel that way, but I really don’t have to wonder long because I understand.

I have read other blogs where the author has lost weight, but still feels heavy. A few years back when I was really rockin’ on Weight Watchers, I felt the same way. I remember looking for a dress for a Christmas party, and was stunned that I was finally in a 10 again. I just couldn’t get my mind around that fact.

There has been a lot of discussion about advertising and the media and the affect they have on the self-esteem and self-image on women and girls. I strongly feel that ads do an awful job on self-image and esteem on the females of the species. Whether it is print media, TV or movies, an image of the perfect, flawless woman is thrust in our collective face, saying, “This is what beauty is.” If we don’t live up to that, does that mean we aren’t beautiful? And we likely won’t live up to that standard, especially with those images being digitally corrected after professional makeup artists’ working to make those women look like a goddess.

I really dig Dove’s Campain for Real Beauty. I just admire what they are doing and hope to use the tools they have to help my own two daughters realize the beauty in themselves, both inside and out.

I look at the cover of Vanity Fair and see Kate Winslet, one of today’s most beautiful women in my opinion, and I think, if she still struggles with feeling like the fat kid, what hope is there? But there is hope and I think things can change. I hope we can change the world, one girl at a time.

