>Because I’m sappy and because I’ve been looking for ways to teach both my daughters, but especially Abbie, self-worth. And because the TV show, “Touched by an Angel” and “Little House on the Prairie” are pretty much the only decent shows on daytime television.

This is what I’d like to teach my children, taken from an episode this week:

From the TV Show, “Touched by an Angel” during the episode, “An Angel on My Tree”

You also have a Father in Heaven and he loves you more than you can imagine.

A boy with Tourrette’s syndrome asks the angel, Monica, “How could God love me? I’m a mistake.”

She responds, “God doesn’t make mistakes. What God sees as perfect is very, very different from what the world sees. The world sees faces that are beautiful and ugly. The world sees bodies that are strong and are weak; the world sees people who succeed or fail. But God sees hearts. He sees the love in your soul. He sees the beauty in your spirit. And that’s the only thing that finally matters. That’s the only thing that lasts. The person that you are, not the body that you’re in.”

