>Last April, I happened to be home sick on, or near, Earth Day. I tuned in to Oprah to see her Earth Day 2007 Show. It’s a show that, in some ways, changed my life.

For more info about the show, go here: http://www.oprah.com/tows/pastshows/200704/tows_past_20070420.jhtml

Almost immediately after the show, I began looking for earth friendly household cleaners. I was shocked that a member of a family interviewed experienced awful health problems linked to household cleaners. Did you know that ingredients of the most popular brands are actually considered to be toxic waste? Neither did I. At the time, I had found a website that will perform a search on cleaners’ ingredients and you can see how toxic they are. If I come across it again, I’ll post it.

I had wanted to get some of the cleaners featured on the Oprah show, but didn’t want to spend that much money. I started out slowly, getting most items from Target, the Method brand.

After coming home from Cincinnati, I decided I’d like to start recycling. We got into practice at the Ronald McDonald House, which practices recycling. So, it was an easy transition. I had been saving plastics and cans in used grocery store bags until a couple of weeks ago, when I got some recycling bins. It’s now something I’m becoming more aware of… so many items we use so often can be recycled.

Just last week, I went shopping for laundry detergent and found phosphate-free laundry detergent at Wal-Mart. That was pretty surprising. I got some and will let you know what I think later (if anyone is remotely interested).

The next step is to get the eco-friendly light bulbs. I’ve been putting off doing that, again, because of cost, but I think in the long run, the cost won’t be as much as I think. Meaning, though more expensive now, the bulbs are supposed to last longer and save energy, hence, money, with our electric bill.

I know this will sound cheesy, but it feels good to do something that is good for our planet. In that sense, it’s doing something good for my kids, too.

