>While Abbie was in the hospital, I had a rare opportunity to catch up on reading stuff other than “Cat in the Hat” and other kid-friendly fare (I can’t ever get used to not saying toddler!). I got several magazines, including this month’s copy of O Magazine, Good Housekeeping, and Redbook. There were some very good articles I may talk about later.

I haven’t gone back to reading the magazines because they were in the bag that also had a can of formula that got crushed in transit. So, we have a duffle bag that is covered with gritty powder. Everything else in that bag is also covered with gritty powder. Rookie mistake. Next time, I’ll have gallon bags in which to put the cans of formula.

As for books, the ones I had been wanting to read for a really, really, really long time and got to do so are: Ava’s Man by Rick Bragg, The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion, and One Writer’s Beginning by Eudora Welty.

I’m over halfway through with Didion’s book and can’t decide between the remaining to which to tackle first. Any input from anyone out there?

